Does This Humble You?

17 Nov


At one point you were the youngest person in the world. 

You cannot imagine a new color.

Maybe you’ve heard these before? I haven’t. The first one makes me think,  yeah yeah, whatever. But then I stopped and realized how many people out there are older, smarter, wiser than me. Geez, I’m such an idiot! An idiot for not realizing how much of an idiot I am.  I’m already someone who young ones are supposed to look up to, but I just finally realized that I need to take advantage of my wise people, how can I be a wise people? Ahhhhh

And as for the second idea, why can’t I imagine a new color!? I am unhappy about that. I understand why I cannot physically interpret additional colors. My eyeballs and brain are only so equipped, and I’ll be thankful (because it’s almost the fourth Thursday in November) that I can even see the visible spectrum of light. But, why can’t I imagine another color. My brain has labeled stimuli around me as falling into color categories, why can’t it also make up a new category? I can imagine another country, another plant, an animal. It’s like my brain cannot imagine something it would not be able to view?

Oh, wait, due to just having discussed this color thing with a friend for 30 minutes, I’ve come up with this hypothesis: We can’t imagine new adjectives. If we can imagine them, then that’s because they exist, and if they exist then they can’t be a “new” thing to imagine.

What do you think about these Debbie Downer affiliates? Or maybe they don’t frustrate you?

3 Responses to “Does This Humble You?”

  1. Jeanne November 17, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    Ah, Emily. These thoughts do not bring me down in the least! Wisdom is not necessarily that closely related to age although certainly there are some things only an older person can know simply because they have lived through it. One would hope that makes them wiser, but it doesn’t if the person doesn’t change or mature from life’s experiences. I don’t see any indication of that in you, thank goodness.

    Furthermore, I am grateful for all those who are “older, smarter and wiser” than I am. It takes a lot of pressure off of me!!! “For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.” Romans 12:3 It is lovely to be humble!

    I’m not sure why I should be able to imagine another color when it seems to me every color is already represented somewhere in our beautiful world. To me, this just means I am not the Creator and this does not cause me to be sad but to rejoice!

  2. Ed November 18, 2011 at 4:51 am #

    It does not really bother me that I can not imagine a new color or that my age qualifies me as a senior citizen. I too am grateful that there are people younger and older than me who have the potential to deal with the problems we face. It does concern me that we are also surrounded by many who don’t care and are not willing to try. Wisdom is gained in small doses and in a variety of ways. We must learn from our mistakes, we must continue to grow/learn, and we must be willing to make the best of change, as it is inevitable. You are willing to ponder deep questions and seek answers outside of your comfort zone. To me that displays a growing wisdom to better understand yourself and the world we live in. May your efforts bring you peace!

  3. Linda November 18, 2011 at 5:37 am #

    Sounds to me like you’ve been thinking too much :0

Leave a Reply

