Is it just me, or is Yahoo Answers unhelpful?

30 Oct

I woke up with a peculiar medical problem. After finding my exact problem described on Yahoo Answers, I illogically got my hopes up that someone would discuss a cause or remedy. Here is the problem and then two people’s suggestions:

My husband’s uvula (hangy ball in back of throat) is elongated, what could cause this??

After an evening of drinking, my husband woke up the next morning and his uvula was bothering him. I checked it out with a flash light and it is not swollen, just really long. It is actually laying on his tongue. He says that nothing hurts, but it is really bothering him. Trying to get him to go to the doctor, but he is a guy and doesn’t want to “waste his time.” Anyone know what this could be??

#1 -Best Answer – Chosen by Voters

Maybe it decided it was tired of hanging around and wanted to lay down for awhile. Hope all works out.

 

#2

It can either be caused by strep throat. Or he might be sick, and it just grew, and will get back to normal in about 3 days. He can get surgery to shorten it, but I think it’s better that he wait a little.If it gets any longer he might have to get it removed, because it’s blocking his airway.
Hope I could help!

 

She thinks it will get better in 3 days while also mentioning that surgery should be considered?! Good thing she threw in the bit about it being better to wait a little before getting the surgery or else I’m sure that guy would’ve done it later that day.

___________________________________________________________________

Momma Linda got me thinking about Mr. Rogers a bit. And, in my Googles I discovered this interesting tidbit about him:

Rogers also made a point to simply behave naturally on camera rather than acting out a character, stating that “One of the greatest gifts you can give anybody is the gift of your honest self. I also believe that kids can spot a phony a mile away.”

Then I happened upon this very hilarious, bordering on very creepy Sesame Street video:

5 Responses to “Is it just me, or is Yahoo Answers unhelpful?”

  1. Linda October 31, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    Mr. Rogers video you mean.
    That dude dances like I do in Zumba class 🙂

    • Emily Clark November 3, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      Yes, I cut off the “Mr.” part. Oops!
      Ha ha, his dancing cracked me up. So you’re saying this is where they get the Zumba coreography from?

  2. Jeanne November 1, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    Re Yahoo: The thing that really bugs me is that often this site comes up first when you do a search for something and the answers are usually worthless. I still fall for it sometimes. Very annoying.

    Re Mr. Rogers: Apparently creepy and weird dancing never bothered the little ones who watched his show. Mr. Rogers makes an easy target for adults, though. The show -and Mr. Rogers- is strange to us because we think anything or anyone that is so nice, gentle, slow, boring, and repetitive must be “phony.” That’s kind of sad, isn’t it?

  3. Jeanne November 1, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    BTW, how’s that elongated uvula doing these days? LOL.

    • Emily Clark November 3, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      Ha ha, it was back to normal in less than 24 hours. Thanks for asking! Yes, it IS sad that we are sometimes repelled by someone like Mr. Rogers. When teaching, I think I switch between acting like Barney, Mr. Rogers, and Dora the Explorer about every 15 minutes depending on my mood and the looks on their faces. It’s quite tiring.

Leave a Reply

