Read This Without Thinking

26 Sep

Do you ever think too much? Have you ever considered that you might be addicted? I’m getting really sick of hearing my own thoughts, especially the broken record that’s been playing lately. A comedian I like talks about how girls are constantly thinking, and that’s why they will ask their guy, “What are you thinking about?”, assuming that he is thinking at all. Then the guy has to come up with some fake answer, “Just thinking about how pretty you are,” to cover up the true, but fake sounding answer, “Nothing”.

RenĂ© Descartes said, “I think, therefore, I am.” But as of late, I’d like to relate to it a bit more, so I’m adding to it: “I think, therefore, life is passing me by.”

or

“I think, therefore, I only exist in my head.”

or

“I think I can think about how not to think”

Yep, it’s bedtime for bonzos (Thanks for this classy phrase, Dad)

3 Responses to “Read This Without Thinking”

  1. Jeanne September 29, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    I hate broken records in my brain. I get that when I do something dumb and I have to replay it over and over again in my mind. It was painful enough the first time so why do I have to keep going over it as if it will somehow become less embarrassing? I suggest watching a really funny movie. Sometimes that helps to break the cycle. Oh, and skyping with your mom….that is a great cure too!! I’m home now so let’s set up a time, k?

    • Emily Clark September 29, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      Oh, I definitely have broken record guilt trips with myself all the time! This thinking problem revolves around an indecision and confusion about certain aspects of my life such as the following small issues:
      Where will I live next year?
      What will my job be, do I want to switch careers?
      Where is my soul mate?
      Who am I?

      I’ve decided that figuring out the last question is a prerequisite to the first three.

      YES, let’s Skype very soon, I can’t wait to hear about Africa! I’m going to try to be on Skype either your Saturday morning or your Saturday night. I’ll get back to you on that.

      • Olivia September 30, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

        My favorite answer to this dilemma is to tell the committee in my head:

        “I am the Chairwoman of the Board and this meeting is now adjourned!”

Leave a Reply

