I’m Not Hungover

18 Sep

I like this post because of the comments below otherwise I might’ve deleted it. Maybe it’s not appropriate to write about not being hungover? Just like they say about bad publicity though, it’s still good. I had 30 more readers yesterday than the previous days. I couldn’t tell you who they were though; mighta just been some drunk people searching on the internet for hangover remedies before they have to take their kids to Sunday school. Oops, I bet that one’ll get me 3 more readers. I didn’t really think you would assume I was lying around in bed yesterday, I was just joking; however, you really should assume more often that I’m lying around in bed. Ask Carrie. These good books combined with needing to recuperate from a hard week’s work is a recipe for laziness for me. Does anyone else have this problem. I know I’ve seen my mom sitting around reading many a time, but can anyone say if that’s sorta kinda the only thing you accomplish on some days? I hope you say yes, but be honest.

Also, on a side note, buried in this post I know she won’t read, especially since she doesn’t read the blog anyway, and especially since this sentence is now almost incomprehensible, post if you have any ideas on what I should do for Carrie’s birthday not this Friday but next. Luckily that bar we just went to is having an art and poetry night (perfect right!) on her birthday, but what kind of cake should I get her? If you haven’t mailed her anything by now, it’s probably too late, but I can buy it here for half the price anyway and say it’s from you in spirit. It will probably break much sooner than the U.S. version (the stuff here is cheap for a reason we are realizing), but let’s not think about that right now.

Aunt Marian, I love your story about the Taiwanese students! Can you believe that the entire country is that nice? I have more to say about this, but right now I really need to keep getting ready for work. I’m glad I got to wake up to your wonderful story.

Original Post:

I can’t post about last night yet. But, I just want you to know it’s not because I’m hungover, being that I only drank one vodka and orange juice and one beer the whole night.  I spent all my free time today doing bi-weekly reports for each of my students because they are due tomorrow.

Aunt Lenore, thanks for being a believer. I bet you didn’t even assume I was hungover either. 🙂

6 Responses to “I’m Not Hungover”

  1. Lenore September 18, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Honestly Emily (and I really, truly mean this), it never even crossed my mind to consider that your late night extreme fun was in any way influenced by alcohol. I could tell from even the few sentences that it was way better than that!
    Love you big time,
    Aunt Lenore

    • Emily Clark September 19, 2011 at 7:46 am #

      Now I know you don’t think of me as a drunk! But really, I didn’t think you would. I was just referring to how you were a believer about us having real friends. I knew if you believed that, you’d also believe me on the non-hangover thing. You’re right! No drunk person can write all that stuff with such a small ration of typos. I didn’t even think about that. Ha!

  2. Marian September 19, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    Emily,

    I’ve been meaning to write to you a while ago. In the comments may not be the correct place but oh well…

    On September 3rd Lafayette had Global Fest. The International Students from Purdue University were contributors to the fest along with various organizations from the local community. Each country had a section.

    Well, of course I was excited to see a large section where the Taiwanese students participated. I couldn’t resist telling them how you were there teaching English. They all let out a wonderful expression of gratitude (at least that is how I interpreted their “tone”) then started asking me so many questions. Where were you living? Why did you decide to go? How did you like it?

    You had just gotten back from Kenting so I tried to tell them about your adventure there. They said taking a scooter was a long ride and were impressed. One of the boys pulled out a map to show me how far it was from Taipei. (Actually two maps).
    They pointed out different things and we had fun talking about you and your adventures. I told them how much you were enjoying their country and how grateful you were for this experience. (I hope you don’t mind, but I mentioned you met a young man and may be dating him. The girls got excited and said now you have a good reason to live there and the boys agreed you may want to stay there and not come back to the US).

    At their table they had characters of words and/or expressions that everyone was supposed to try writing. They gave me one to copy and I got frustrated because it seemed so hard. However, they were so kind and encouraging. What appeared to be a Taiwanese boy showed me his and how terrible it was. (It really was a very poor copying job) so I didn’t feel so bad after all. Then, they (and I) insisted that Jim try to write one too. I rummaged through the pile and pulled out one that had few brush strokes, appearing to be much easier than the one I had just tried to write.

    When finished, they told me that mine said “Beautiful Person” and Jim had written “Genius”. I just laughed thinking it couldn’t be more true! Then I wondered why genius was so easy to write compared to Beautiful person. Now that we have them at home they look really good. (Most likely it’s because we have nothing to compare them with)!

    The wanted me to have the maps of Taiwan so when I read your blog I will know where you are and what you are talking about. It was a fun experience for me to chat with students from a country where you are visiting. (visiting right???)

    I love your blog and can’t wait to hear more about this last adventure. And I am with Lenore; hangover didn’t even enter my mind. Tired from having so much fun did enter my mind though!
    Love you much…
    Auntie M

  3. Jeanne Koenig Clark September 20, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Playing hard and working hard sounds like a good balance to me.

    Happy Birthday wishes to Carrie!

    Dad

  4. Erika September 21, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Get her a translator that has voice to text translation. Oh, and good luck finding that.

    • Emily Clark September 25, 2011 at 11:18 am #

      That’s what Beau sells everyday to doctors btw- a voice to text computer program called Dragon. iPhone users can download the app called Dragon for dictating their text messages. It works decently if you speak clearly.

Leave a Reply

