Confused

17 Sep

Carrie and I are about to ride our bikes to go have drinks. We’ve been to this bar a couple times before and liked it. It’s been a while since we’ve been out just us two, so this feels unique. I’ll let you know if anything interesting happens.

I just finished a super d duper book called The Help, so my life has an expected air about it like I’m waiting for something dramatic to happen while also feeling like I’ll need to instigate this drama. I need to interview people or find some kind of evil and write about it. Something needs to happen. Carrie and I both feel a bit isolated. We did move to an island where we don’t speak either of the native languages and are almost incapable of learning them, but…

Though I’m feeling isolated, mostly I’m just confused. Where do I belong? I’m American, but why? I’m not Taiwanese but why? I feel like one of my students. “Why? Why not?” Often times they don’t even ask a question, they just stare at you with huge eyes. These stare offs can go on for minutes. “Daniel, go get your communications book out of you school bag.” Big eyes. “Daniel, go get your communication book please.” Big eyes. “Daniel, go. get. your communications. book. out of. your school bag.” Big eyes. “Teacher Shelly, who did you just say forgot to give you their communications book, Miussia and who?” “Ohhhh, sorry, Daniel, nevermind.” He has recently moved here from China where he attended an English school, so the language isn’t completely new, but he’s probably just as lost as I am sometimes. I’ve had to crack down lately on the school rule of No Speaking Chinese, and it’s kind of sad watching them try to find the words to express themselves. “She, he, me, hurt arm!”

“He hurt your arm with the toy?”

“Yes!”

3 Responses to “Confused”

  1. Jeanne Koenig Clark September 17, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    “The Help” as a movie was also quite good. Mom and I went to see it on our anniversary.

    I remember feeling some what isolated when we first went to Germany because of a new culture and different language. The feeling gradually diminished over time, but being in the minority can be a bit disconcerting.

    Pick your battles carefully. Life can be rather mundane for awhile, but drama will eventually find you. I was trying to sound mysterious! Did it work? Dad

  2. Linda September 18, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    Be careful. Drinking and riding don’t mix! Wear your helmet!!!
    I agree with Ed. The movie was sooo good!!!!

  3. Erika September 21, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    I haven’t seen the movie, but yes, great book. Your kids sound sooooo cute. Wouldn’t you rather have mine? One of them punched a kid in the face yesterday. Not as cute, but….um, always fun to have a challenge….sigh.

Leave a Reply

