My Students!

30 Jul

Blue Class and me! This is my previous sub job. I'll have most of these students when the new semester begins.

Yi-Chen makes everything so fun with his jokes and laughter. "My bread is going to eat you, Teacher Emily!" And, when it's time to learn, he is very attentive.

Riku is Japanese and moved back to Japan now that his city is safe following the earthquake. He is adorable and smart.

Muissia is a joy to be around because she's very excited about life. Though she really dislikes new people, she warmed up to me within the first hour. Her clothes are always waaay cute which is the same for all the girls you'll notice.

Yi-Chen and Muissia. Riku looks on from his chair.

Jaquelyn is very quiet and sweet. Her hair usually has at least three accessories and her wrists have at least two. She takes off her watch and bracelet when she goes to the bathroom and washes her hands. She really couldn't be any cuter even when she cries upon being dropped off.

Jacquelyn and Miussia. In the background Kai thinks that hat trick is super clever, so he walked around like that for 15 minutes.

Kai is also called Happy at home, and "Kai" in Chinese means "happy", so it's all sensible but confusing. Anyway, he's very new and took a while to fall into the routine. He actually knows quite a bit of English as far as letter and numbers go. He's sweet, and, appropriately, always happy.

Marcus is very observant and smart. He seems quite a bit older than the rest of the class. I think he will be more in his element when the curriculum is more advanced.

Ethan is very sweet and likes being around me. He has trouble paying attention, and seems to be in his own world a lot. This doesn't annoy me though; I'm not sure why. Well, look at him! Or maybe because we have the same LETTER! E!!!! This is a big deal people.

Lia is extremely smart and very in tune with adults. She speaks English fluently even at home with her mom, who reads to her in English and has helped her become the astute learner she is.

Teacher Victoria (not her real name). She won't be my Chinese Teacher next year probably, but I feel soooo lucky to have worked with her. She's a hard worker, nice, and patient with me and the students! You cannot tell in this photo, but her clothes are really cool.

These cupcakes were brought to school by a student's parent. There was one for each student in that class, and a huge circus cake to share. As you would guess, the icing tasted gross, but no one complained because they're just so CUTE!

7 Responses to “My Students!”

  1. Linda July 30, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Gotta love ’em. What little dolls!!! And those cupcakes!! Whoa!! pretty creative! I’m so glad you posted pics of your kiddies!!! So cute!

  2. Jeanne Koenig Clark July 30, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    ADORABLE!!!! It must be fun working with such smart and happy little kids. Thanks for giving us an idea of what it’s like at your school. I love these pics. xxoo

  3. Jeanne Koenig Clark July 30, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    The photos of the kids are great! It’s easy to see why you got attached. It is very comforting to me that you enjoy your job and your life there. Take care!

    Dad

  4. Mary E July 31, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    Your students are darling! What a change from ornery 7th graders! They are certainly lucky to have you as a teacher. I can see why you are enjoying your new job so much.

  5. Lynn July 31, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    I’m jealous…..

  6. Carrie Clark August 4, 2011 at 2:42 am #

    Hey, Teacher Emily, tell us about the school culture…differences and similarities to US students and teachers. I know you are at a different grade level, but I bet you can see the comparisons.

    Also, how’s the weather? (Send rain home if you can. Throw in a couple of those little cuties while you are at it.)

  7. jade August 9, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    The picture of Muissia is funny because Riku is sticking a toy up his nose. It reminds me of Lavendar Lauren Buddhalicious. Remember how she used to stick rocks up her nose at daycare?

    I miss you, Mem. Send me an email soon.

Leave a Reply

