My New Job

23 Jun

We still do not have internet hooked up in our new apartment. Carrie and our friend Hsiaochen have been calling a couple companies to find the cheapest price, and we are hoping it will be hooked up tomorrow. If not, though, we will have to go the weekend without internet. Oh my.

I am using the internet at work. My lunch break is 2.5 hours long! When I start the new year with my own class (right now I am just subbing), I will only have a 2 hour break becuase I will have older students. The students I have now are 2-3 years old and ADORABLE! I cannot wait to go on and on describing these kids.

At any given point in the day I have between 7-11 students, and next week I will lose one or two and gain two new ones. The new ones will be trying the school out for one week to determine if they would like to enroll their child this coming semester which begins September 1st. The school director told me this today, phrasing it like this, “I have good news. It is good for us, but maybe not that good for you. You are getting another new student next week.” This is not bad news to me, thoug. I know I haven’t been here long and may be singing a different tune after a while, but right now, comparing this job to my last, it is so much more fun and so much less stressful. The students listen! Having two new students who do not know the procedures and are probably going to cry, as this will be their first school experience, will be a challenge, but a good one.

The day starts with aerobics. I love doing the stretches, dances, and singing with the students. They are all very happy while we clap, touch our toes, hold hands and move around in a circle, etc. My students especially are all smiles. Some of the students, especially some of the yonger ones, stare off into space or watch the bigger students. I think the ones who look out-of-it have not been here long enough to be speaking or understanding English very well. The majority of my little 2 year olds are fairly bilingual and a few are completely bilingual.

Even better is that these 2-3 year olds are very independent and mature, if that can possibly be said about a toddler. They can put their socks and shoes on by themselves, brush their teeth, and they clean up better than many 10 year olds. As soon as you say it’s time to clean up 8 out of 10 of them are quickly putting everything back WHERE IT BELONGS!! Today, one of my students, a shy girl named Miranda, was stepping on and tripping over two boys in order to put a puzzle back exactly where it goes. I took it from her before she dropped it and fell. I was holding it as I continued helping other students clean up their blocks. She waited patiently and then pointed to the correct spot when I obviously didn’t know where to put it.

When it was time to do centers, one of the choices was playdough. I was a little weary because of my past experiences with playdough at the private school where I worked in college. There the kids would demand certain colors, get bored with that color within three minutes, drop little pieces of it all over the floor, and mix their green playdough with their neighbor’s orange one, making every  jar into an ugly poo color within the first couple weeks of school. At my school now, I gave each student a tray and a tiny jar of playdough. They all sat nicely in their chair and played, sometimes asking for help using the cookie cutters. When it was time to clean up, the all began to put every singly piece of playdough back in the jar and then putting their trays in a stack on the table.One little boy had a jar with playdough that was a bit dried out, he spent five minutes meticulously picking up every tiny piece and putting it in the jar. All the other students were already playing with other toys on the floor.

Well, they are awake now; time to read them The Three Little Pigs and teach them this theme: It does not pay to be lazy.

4 Responses to “My New Job”

  1. Jeanne Koenig Clark June 23, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    WOW! It just goes to show that children can respond to high expectations..and still be happy too. You are going to lean a lot about cultural differences while you are there. It will be eye-opening and life-changing, which is why living internationally is such a valuable life experience.

    And these sweet little ones are so fortunate to have you for their teacher! They will learn so much from you as well.

    BTW, you can use tealit and forumosa to find good used furniture and appliances for sale.

    Love to you my lovely girl. Thank you for the updates; I enjoy reading them so much. I’m going to try to get on skype around 7:00 am (my time) every day in case you can get internet access around then

  2. Linda June 23, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    So… I guess that means that Carrie has the younger kids in the fall? Sounds like alot of fun!!! I’m so glad to hear from ya’ll. I’m gonna be glad when you get internet too. I’m wondering if you got the fridge yet???

    • Emily Clark June 26, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

      Carrie probably has older kids (4 and 5 year olds), but nothing is determined yet. We do not have a fridge yet. Eric (who hired us) said he would take us today to this street that sells used appliances, but I’m not sure if that’s definitely happening today after all. By the way, thanks for posting comments and caring about us! Even though I enjoy writing for the sake of writing, it’s nicer to know people are reading it once in a while. 🙂

  3. Erika June 29, 2011 at 2:36 am #

    Very cool. It sounds like a great fit for you so far. 🙂

Leave a Reply

