In Tokyo

8 Jun

This post may not be up to my creative or grammatical standards, but all you people up at 5 in the morning will just have to wait until I have slept off my travel hangover to see a revised edition. Flight from Houston to LAX airport was fairly uneventful, as Carrie and I were not yet in another country nor awake enough to notice if we had been. However, once we took off to Tokyo, we were flying Japan Airlines (JAL) and woooo eeee, I just cannot in my current state verbalize how amazing this fight was for us. For now, suffice it to say that we had a 6 course lunch and  3 course dinner. Okay, one more detail, the flight attendants (all 50 of them) were the sweetest and most beautiful people. I swear they changed outfits halfway through and when one lady saw Carrie and I standing in the back of the plane (yes, you can stand back there and hang out, drinking a beer from the self serve station!), she brought us a bamboo thing… a half pipe of bamboo chunk that you stand on to stretch out your feet. If you can’t visualize this, you will have to wait for us to upload a photo when we get our own bamboo chunk for our new apartment . Carrie just showed me a box the size of a pack of pens that she says holds the materials to decorate our whole apartment. I’ll get back to you on that too.

It is 8:10 pm here btw. Sweet dreams U.S. of A.

I’m reconsidering the promise of revision. Tomorrow we fly to to Taipei and will need to set up our cell phone service, get to our hostel, and prepare for our interview the following day.

P.S. Japanese gas station food is neither delicious nor cheap.

-Emily Clark

3 Responses to “In Tokyo”

  1. Jeanne June 9, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Love it!! I don’t think anything in Japan is cheap, but you could probably find something delicious if you didn’t go to a gas station to eat. LOL. So glad your flight was amazing. I don’t think you should worry about editing at all…we are just thrilled to get your posts!

    I love you so much!

  2. booklady26 June 9, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    Love it!! I don’t think anything in Japan is cheap, but you could probably find something delicious if you didn’t go to a gas station to eat. LOL. So glad your flight was amazing. I don’t think you should worry about editing at all…we are just thrilled to get your posts!

    Love,
    Mom

  3. Nancy A. Koenig June 9, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    Very funny Emily! Thank you for writing. Travelis so different these days. Your flight sounds wildly fun and pampering. I didn’t know they did that.
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

